The Rocky Mountain Section of IFT was organized in Denver in 1959 and had 42 members. The first meeting was a dinner meeting attended by 46 people. After dinner, the Charter was presented to the Section by President Ray Wakefield who described the organization and activities of the Institute. Unfortunately, the Section did not maintain an appropriate level of activity and became inactive. The Section was reorganized as a sub-section of the AK-SAR-BEN Section (Nebraska) in 1969, and started meeting regularly on a monthly basis, with the exception of summers. On May 31, 1971, the Section was formally reinstituted as Regional Section No. 32 and officially called the Rocky Mountain Section. The Charter was signed by Hans Lineweaver, IFT President.

Membership encompasses Colorado and Wyoming and is drawn primarily from the food industry, Colorado State University in Fort Collins, and the University of Wyoming in Laramie. Both universities have active food science clubs for their undergraduate and graduate students. Meetings are planned to provide a friendly atmosphere and advance communication between individuals representing industry, government, and education. Tours of processing plants and other food facilities are held in conjunction with Section meetings, offering members and guests a great diversity.

Special attention has always been paid to the education and professional training of students in the field of food science. The Section supports the scholarship and travel grant programs at Colorado State University, the University of Wyoming and other eligible Animal Science, Food Science and Nutrition related programs in the area.